This year’s Sundance film festival winners have been announced. Here are the main prize winners:

US Dramatic Competition
Grand Jury Prize: Like Crazy (US, Drake Doreamus)
Directing Award: Martha Marcy May Marlene (US, Sean Durkin)
Special Jury Prize: Felicity Jones (Like Crazy)
Special Jury Prize: Another Earth (US, Mike Cahill)
Audience Award: Circumstance (US, Maryam Keshavarz)

US Documentary Competition
The Grand Jury Prize: How To Die In Oregon (US, Peter D Richardson)
Directing Award: Resurrect Dead: The Mystery Of The Toynbee Tiles (US, Jon Foy)
Special Jury Prize: Being Elmo (US, Constance Marks)
Audience Award: Buck (US, Cindy Meehl)

World Cinema Dramatic Competition
Grand Jury Prize: Happy, Happy (Norway, Sykt Lykkelig)
Directing Award: Tyrannosaur (UK, Paddy Considine)
Special Jury Prize: Peter Mullan and Olivia Colman (UK, Tyrannosaur)
Audience Award: Kinyarwanda (Rwanda/US, Alrick Brown)

World Cinema Documentary Competition
Grand Jury Prize: Hell And Back Again (UK/US, Danfung Dennis)
Directing Award: Project Nim (UK, James Marsh)
Editing Award: The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 (Sweden, Göran Hugo Olsson)
Special Jury Prize: Position Among The Stars (Netherlands, Leonard Retel Helmrich
Audience Award: Senna (UK, Asif Kapadia)

Best of NEXT! Audience Award: to.get.her (US/UK, Erica Dunton)

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Another Happy Day (US, Sam Levinson)

About The Author

One Response

  1. Chris Searson

    I’m personally really pleased to see ‘Senna’ pick up the Audience award. The documentary on legendary F1 driver Ayrton Senna is the first to have been granted rights from FOM to use footage from his career in a film. That kind of backing doesn’t come easily.

    It’s not released worldwide until the summer but it looks set to be worth the wait.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To help us avoid spam comments, please answer this simple question to prove you are human: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.